Everyone else is writing about it, why don’t I?

So, living in Wisconsin, there is one thing above all else that everyone must be – a Packer fan. My dad had no sons, so it went without saying that my sister and I were going to be on the couch with dear old Dad come Sunday afternoon. And I started to really like it. Like, look forward to it. Being that I was an “alternative” kid in highschool, it really wasn’t quite right that I enjoyed Packer games, but I did and still do. 

But now our fearless leader, the man who I am convinced if he ran for president, would win Wisconsin easily, has left. I find myself wavering. I mean, I can kind of see if from both sides. He retired, the Packers made new decisions and plans, but then he said he wanted to come back. A while ago, it seems. And the Packers can’t change their plans? Seriously, for a three-time league MVP who gave the team its first real run at the Superbowl in ages. And did I mention he helped them WIN a Superbowl?

But then there’s that other side that thought, dude, you made a decision, you’re an adult, you need to stand by it. I know it sucks, you want to play, but the ship has sailed. Practicing with your local high school team isn’t going to cut it in the NFL. I really think that he was miffed because the Packers weren’t fawning all over him back in March. They were like, “are you in or out?” And he stuck his thumb in his mouth and said, “Fine, I’m out.” And then regretted it. 

And now he’s playing in the biggest market in the league. And I can’t help but think that maybe, just maybe, that state won’t love him like our state has loved him for 16 years. And just maybe he’ll feel like a small fish in a big pond. And maybe that will hurt his ego even more than Ted Thompson did. And then what? He’ll play this season, and retire again next year only to have a bad taste in his mouth every time he looks back on the end of his career. 

I just checked out our local paper and I have to admit, my heart sank when I saw this picture. 

HE’S WEARING A JETS HAT. And he looks happy. I don’t ever remember seeing him, off the field, wearing a Packers hat. A Nike hat, yes. But not the hat of the team he lead, adored him, and paid for that nice house in Mississippi. 

I guess this means it’s really over. And I can’t help but feel that I have a bad taste in my mouth too. I can only imagine what it will be like when the season actually starts.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

