Um….thanks?

So as part of the vacation extravaganza of 08, I attended the wedding of my little cousin. At 22 I guess she’s not really “little” anymore, but seriously, I remember when she was born. 

Anyway, this gave me the opportunity to see many family members that I hadn’t seen in years. Including one great-aunt, who I’ve always liked, and lives down south. At the continental breakfast at the hotel, while eating my bowl of Raisin Bran with a banana (I LOOOOOOVE cereal), I could hear Aunt talking to my mom about me. Mom said, “No, I think she’s about the same size.” Turns out my aunt thought that I looked like I had lost some weight. Well thanks, I’ll take it. No problem!

Later at the wedding as they were leaving, she came up to me and said, “I don’t care what anyone says, I am convinced you’ve dropped at least 20 pounds since I’ve seen you last.”

um…THANKS? First of all, i have NOT lost 20 pounds. I have never in my life weighed 20 pounds more than I do right now. Second of all, the last time she saw me was my WEDDING. Now, I was in no way the type of bride who starved herself to fit into a size 2 wedding dress. I still wanted to look like me on my wedding day. So I continued my usual gym regiment, I ran, I worked out. If anything, I lifted more free weights than usual as an attempt to get more super-toned arms for the halter wedding dress, but I wasn’t trying to lose weight.

So my point is, she meant it as a compliment, and I take it as one. But at the same time, how fat did she think I was? What picture of me did she have in her head that she thought I weighed 20 pounds more than I do right now. 

Sometimes I need to not think things through. Obviously other people don’t.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

