Three years ago

About this time three years ago today, I was freaking. Getting married is HUUUUGE. But it wasn’t the type of freaking that you see immediately before a wedding. I wasn’t like, “What am I doing?” “Should I go through with this?” I was like, “HOORAY! I’m so excited! It’s about damn time! I’m nervous! I hope I don’t trip. I’m so excited to see everyone I know in the same room at the same time!” 

It was a beautiful day, October 15, 2005. Not a cloud in the sky, warm, leaves changing colors. I was about to explode with excitement when I was in the bride’s room at the church, getting into my dress. I think the memory of walking down the aisle will stay with me forever. The room felt like it had an electric charge, a pianist and flutist were playing Canon in D, my dad and I were walking and I was trying so hard not to cry. Trying not to cry quickly turned into trying-not-to-do-the-ugly-cry. 

I remember how we giggled, wide-eyed during our ceremony. The hour-long Catholic ceremony gave us enough time to really look around the room and see the whole crowd. Who wants to kneel at the altar for an hour with your back to your guests? Not us. We sat up on the altar in chairs so we could actually make eye contact with our family and friends.

Neither of us stopped smiling all day and I still remember how my cheeks ached from smiling. But it was a good ache.

We wanted a fun, wild party for a reception and we got one. There were minor snafus, but now, only three years later, I barely remember them. “Hey Ya” by Outkast was played twice at our reception – thanks to me. The majority of songs were 80’s hits with air guitar solos galore. Oh yeah, and a huge dance off. Nice.

So happy anniversary to my little Derek. Thanks for the best years of my life. I love you and can’t wait to see you hold our little chub in a few months.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

