Dread

That word usually pertains to dentist appointments, paying bills, a visit with Great Aunt Edna and the end of the world. For me, I’m dreading the triathlon I signed up for a few months ago.

I’ve done two before. I always feel an awesome sense of accomplishment when it’s over and I know that I physically can do it. However, I will have just had a baby 4 months ago when I do this triathlon. I really want to get back in shape and this will definitely help. But I don’t know. After work I really just want to hang around with my baby. I don’t like getting him home only to get him back in his car seat to clip him into the jogging stroller and go for a run.

Getting to the gym to swim laps is what I dread the most. I went last week and completed 12 laps in the pool and happily got out. I don’t know why I hate swimming so much. Maybe it’s because I find that I have a hard time breathing when my face is in the water. And exerting yourself by swimming makes you want to breath more, while swimming requires you to breath less. Or maybe it’s because I truly almost drowned in the first triathlon I ever did. Seriously, for a split second I thought this was where the Cheri story ended. 

I guess I just hate the feeling that it’s constantly lingering over my head. Every night after work I feel like I should be out running, biking or swimming. It’s hard when you wake up at 5 am and have a baby to look after, to find motivation. But I must. And I will. And I refuse to ever feel like the Cheri story is ending somewhere in the middle of a cold Wisconsin lake.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

