Thanksgiving Aftermath

No, I’m not talking about expanded waistlines, empty bank accounts because of Black Friday sales or family visit hangovers. I’m talking about Riley’s first cold.

He’s 8 and a half months old and this is his first cold. Pretty good, right? Well, I’m still breastfeeding, so I really thought he wouldn’t experience his first cold until after I stopped. I knew the stuff I’ve read about breast milk being such an amazing cure all for just about everything isn’t exactly true. Yes, it’s awesome, but don’t think that just because you breastfeed doesn’t mean your kid will never ever get sick, will be a member of MENSA or will have superhero-like eyesight. Well, actually, those last two remain to be seen.

Anyway, on Thanksgiving, my cousin’s 5-year old daughter had a cold. Shocking. This poor kid ALWAYS has a cold. Always. Seriously. So I didn’t really bat an eye about it until I kept hearing her parents repeat, “Cover your mouth.” And then I’d look over and see her hacking up a lung in Riley’s little baby face. I cringed.

It kept going on, so as he kept crawling up to her, I picked him up and held him on my lap. She came over and sneezed on him. Inside, I wimpered. For the twentieth time, it was repeated, “Cover your mouth.” There were no attempts to take her away from the other kids, or even SHOW her what they mean by cover your mouth. I truly don’t think she knew because she never once made an attempt to cover her mouth while she hacked and sneezed.

I went over to my sister to tattle about the germy little kid and the parents who just didn’t get it. I just didn’t want to have a sick baby on my hands. Next time I think I’m going to be a little more proactive. Moms have to be vocal, stand up for their kids, and occasionally be a bitch. That last part shouldn’t be hard.

I’m not mad at her, she’s a little kid, but come on parents. Your kid is obviously sick. I’m not saying she should be quaranteed to a bubble, but maybe show her what you mean by cover your mouth instead of continuously repeating something she obviously doesn’t understand.

So anyway, my baby is a typical snot-nosed kid right now. His little cry is even congested, making him sound really sad and pathetic. I was up every 2 hours last night. But considering he’s been teething hardcore, that’s nothing new. I go back to work tomorrow after having 5 days off and maybe there, in my childless, cough-free zone of an office, I can rest.

But who are we kidding? I’m going to wake up with the same cold tomorrow.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Thanksgiving Aftermath

  1. Pingback: New Motherhood – A Recap « AWholeNotherStory

Leave a Reply

