Penny pincher

I have long been known as a cheapskate among my friends and family. I like to think of myself as thrifty. Sometimes I make a comment about something being too expensive and Derek will say nothing but pinch his thumb and forefinger together a few times; the international penny pincher sign. And I will zip my lip.

I have always clipped coupons. I have a coupon organizer. I consider myself young (at least for a few more years), hip and fashionable, but yes, I wander the aisles of Pick N Save with my coupon organizer on top of my cart. And a baby in my cart, too. WHAT’S HAPPENED TO MY LIFE?

A few months ago, I stumbled upon the concept of double coupon days at the grocery store. I’ve seen signs for it before, but never got it. Like, you can use two coupons for one product? Wha? 

No, it means that you get double the amount of the coupon back. At least up to $1. So since that time, I’ve been shopping on Wednesdays aka Double Coupon Daze. Oh yeah, I’m in a daze. Sour cream for 35 cents? Wahoo!

It doesn’t get much more exciting than that, for a cheapskate such as myself.

But that was until this past Wednesday. I took my thrifyness to new heights.

Those of you who read or write money-saving blogs may want to stop right here. This is not in your league. I don’t buy a cartful of groceries for $2.78 or actually make the store pay me for a bag of goodies. But in my world, this was pretty exciting.

I didn’t have time to run to the store after work this Wednesday, and we only needed a few things, so I went to the grocery store on my lunch break. Kinda loser-ish to begin with, but oh well. And only old people shop at noon on a Wednesday, note to self.

So me and a bunch of centenarians are wandering the aisles of the grocery store while the rest of the world is eating their Lean Cuisines at their desks, or brown bagging it with friends in the office cafeteria. 

However, it was worth giving up my lunch break cuz I got two really good deals. I got several other good deals, but these two were really good deals. And I giddily told Derek and my officemate about them later that day. 

I got a gallon of Kemps milk…

for 79 cents. Regular price was $2.79 (which is waaay cheaper than what I pay at the Pick N Save by my house – weird), $1 off coupon, double coupon day, and BAM!

AND

I got a bag of Ore Ida hashbrowns

for nothing AND got two cents back. Exciting. That’s because it was on sale for $1.98 and I had a $1 off coupon and it was double coupon day = .02 back. Woo!

Why does this make me so excited? I can afford to pay full price. Oh yeah, cuz I’m a cheapskate. I forgot.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

