May 4

One year ago today I left this little man to go back into the big, bad working world.

(Yes, it was probably a bad idea to have the above picture framed on my desk. Made that mommy guilt that much harder. But, come on. That picture is hilar.)

I distinctly remember leaving the house that first morning back after maternity leave. He was only 8 weeks old. Seriously, 8 weeks? Why did I go back to work so early? Oh yeah, money is helpful. And I do remember going a bit stir crazy those last couple of weeks. I think 10 weeks might have been perfect, but oh well. Can’t go back, only forward.

Derek and Riley were both sleeping in our bed when I left that morning. I was dressed in what I hoped would hide the remainder of the dreaded Baby Weight. My co-worker friends assured me that we’d have fun that day and, while I was looking forward to catching up with them, I couldn’t help but cry when it was time to leave.

“He’s too cute to leave,” I tearfully said to Derek, as I gazed down at my peacefully sleeping infant.

Tears actually rolled down my cheeks as I closed the door and got into my car. It just seemed wrong. And hard and scary. 

I can’t believe it was a year ago. Time with Riley has only gotten better. And I still feel that hands down, the best part of my day is when I pull into the driveway and Derek and Riley are in the front window waving and smiling at me. It doesn’t get any better than that.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

