An Open Post

Dear Running Gods,

In a few short days, I will be out there, pounding the pavement for 13 miles through Lake Country. I’ve been working towards it for the last 12 weeks and managed to reach this date without injury through some good training, a little luck and a PT friend’s advice. For this I am thankful and really looking forward to the race.

But, and this is a big but, my child is sick. With a cold. He has the stuffy, sneezing, coughing, etc, etc etc thing going on right now. In the past I have not had the best track record with my immune system. For many many years we did not like each other. It rewarded me with a cold every month and I rewarded it by having no faith in it whatsoever, which really was a vicious cycle.

So today, I am asking for help from anyone and everyone who will listen. Please don’t let me get sick. Having worked so hard for the past three months and have a runny nose and a sore throat ruin it now would be horrible. So please, let’s not let that happen, ok? You may strike me down with a cold on Sunday, but please, not Saturday. Pretty please.

Amen,

Cheri

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

