Baker’s Man

Obviously one of the best things this layoff has allowed me to do is spend oodles and oodles of time with my little 19-month old Riley. I can’t believe how much I love all this time with him, especially since I’ve always been the I’m-not-cut-out-to-be-a-stay-at-home-mom type. But I love that I’m the one who gets him dressed every morning. I love that I know exactly what he eats at every meal since I’m the one who gives it to him. I love that I am there for every cute dance move he does, every funny fake yawn, and to kiss every “owwa” he gets.

Yesterday I whined to Derek, “I’m borrrrrred.” That is not something I have uttered much in my life. I don’t think I have uttered that once since having a baby. But it’s cold out and I’m going a little stir crazy. I decide to bake some pumpkin bread. Then I had a better idea.

“Riley, do you want to bake with me?” I asked him. He just stared at me. He was in.

I can’t believe how much fun it was. Yes, it was horribly messy. But he was able to dump the flour-filled measuring cup into the bowl, the teaspoons filled with spices and even help stir. He seemed amazed by the whole thing, and loved standing on the step stool so he could see and touch everything. I even caught him sneaking a taste of the flour spilled on the counter. Probably the last time he’ll ever do that.

When we were almost finished, I grabbed the camera. I probably should’ve used the flash. The kitchen was a total mess. But I love them. You can see the fun. I love this little man.

Apparently licking the beaters is a natural response that we are all born with. That’s good to know.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

