Sweet Relief

Vindicated. Respected. Happy. Relieved.

I am feeling all of those emotions and more because ….wait for it….I accepted a job offer on Friday. That means this second maternity leave is coming to an end. Nine weeks unemployed, crushed, devastated.

But now it’s all over. And I can’t shake the feeling that I’m going to be in a better place. During one of my many interviews with this PR agency several people mentioned that the company has respect for its employees.

And that’s when it hit me. Yes, I loved my job, but that’s what that company is lacking – respect. I was cast aside for truly no reason, humiliated, hurt, lied to and betrayed. For no reason. Other than the fact that I had the shittiest of all shitty bosses. The opposite of an ally. A wolf in sheep’s clothing for sure.

But when the head of the company says, “This isn’t a sweat shop. We expect people to work hard, but at 5:00 go home to your family and recharge…” YES. I can get behind that. I’m a hard worker. I like having a job, but I don’t need to be made to feel like my best isn’t good enough when it is.

Considering the crappy economy out there, 9 weeks of unemployment is nothing. I’m going to be making more money, embarking on new challenges in a new field, and I think I’m going to like it.

This is what I’ve hoped, waited and worked for. And it’s coming true.

Life is good (and if you don’t think it is, hold on, it will get good soon enough). Wow, listen to me. I just may become an optimist after all.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

