Year In Pictures

Ok, I’m no Time magazine, but there were quite a few notable things that happened in my life this year. Looking through the last 12 months of iPhoto was actually a lot of fun. I heart reminiscing. Here are some cool things that happened this year. Warning – photo dump ahead:

Derek got the Canon Digital Rebel for his birthday in January (thanks to me!) and we have been able to take some amazing pictures since then. Including this one, taken the day after getting his camera:

We started a new tradition in 2010 – snowboarding on Valentine’s Day. This is one tradition I want to keep every year. Calling all babysitters!

A few weeks before Riley’s 1st birthday, he finished the last of my breastmilk stash in the freezer. And I took a pictures. Yes, I’m insane.

Also a few weeks before Riley’s birthday (and welcoming over 40 people to our house), Derek finished the bathroom remodel. And it was a glorious day.

And truly before we knew it, it was the big day. Riley turned one. And I still can’t believe it.

Shortly after his birthday, Riley came to see me teach skating lessons and I was able to be there for his first time on the ice. Imagine how good he’ll be once he gets skates!

Spring came and with it, we started bathing in the backyard.

Not really, but we did store our old nasty bathtub in the backyard for the better part of the year.

We also got a new fence in spring. Hooray!

Riley played so hard, he fell asleep. (One of my favorite pictures ever!)

We mourned the loss of Lost with some Dharma Initiative Diced Tomatoes. And we’re still slightly confused/disappointed about the finale, in case you were wondering.

With summer came the fun, excitement and happiness of the wedding of one of my best friends in the whole wide world. One of the most beautiful, meaningful weddings I’ve ever attended. Plus it was fun!

The summer also found Riley and me at the kiddie wading pool at the park up the street. I know we’ll go to it every summer for a few more years. Until he deems it uncool.

Derek’s band played on a boat that sailed around Milwaukee and it was awesome. And no, they’re not a cover band. Which made it even cooler.

We also took Riley to the Wisconsin State Fair for the first time and even though it was hot as hades, he could not take his eyes off the real live cows long enough to get his picture taken. Ooh, cow butt!

What is a summer in Wisconsin without a good cardboard boat race. FYI – cardboard does not float very well.

And speaking of fun in the water, Riley now understands the joy of the beach.

The third day of September brought one of my proudest moments – the Lake Country Half Marathon.

Within a few weeks of that happy day, the bottom fell out and I was laid off. The fall of 2010 is one I would like to forget. But mixed in with that sad time were some really awesome moments. Some which would not have happened if I had been working full time.

And then just like that, it was over and we were a two income household again. Though I wouldn’t describe it as the perfect job, this job is pretty great. Not one, but two holiday parties, a Christmas bonus, plus I get to come home for an hour lunch every day. No complaints here. I will be forever grateful to this company and my current boss for rescuing me.

And before we knew it, it was time to deck the halls and kiss 2010 goodbye.

So bye bye 2010. It was the best of times, it was the worst of times. It’s over now and I hope we experience more high highs and a few less low lows in 2011.

Happy New Year!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

