First Outdoor Run

Today the temperatures were crazy for February in Wisconsin. When you see this in the forecast:

that means one thing – it’s going to be the first outdoor run of the year.

I’m not a wimp when it comes to being cold, but here’s the thing. I’ve spent half my life in a freezing cold ice rink, I’m allowed to not want to freeze my butt off anymore. But I am also allowed to be sick of the treadmill by this point. So I flipped it the bird and headed out.

I planned it all day at work. I thought about what I’d wear. My spring running stuff! Oh, how I’ve missed it!

I knew I’d have to run immediately upon getting home from work. It’s February after all, and it would start getting dark around 5:45. So even though I had a hungry husband and a clingy toddler, I left.

However, Riley is obsessed with my running hat. He always wants to wear it. I tried to deter him with this embarrassing hat that he really likes, but it didn’t work. So I gave him my running hat and I wore his. This hat:

I prayed I wouldn’t have to stop and talk to any neighbors. Here’s the funniest thing about this hat though. My dad bought it for my husband on a recent trip to Alaska. Ugh.

Anyway, back to the run. Being out in the neighborhood felt like the end of hibernation. I saw houses that I swear weren’t there last fall. There was hardly anyone out. The roads were filthy. My eyes and nose were running. But it felt so, so good.

Even though I stepped in a giant, muddy puddle and did this to my poor running shoes:

It was still worth it. But please, nobody mention the fact that it’s going back to the 30s tomorrow, ok?

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

