Eat Your Veggies

I know a lot of people with picky toddlers. I’m very thankful that I do not have one. Riley will eat just about anything. Healthy things. It’s amazing. Garbanzo beans, peas, spinach. It’s pretty impressive.

So I wasn’t surprised with what happened the other night. I had a busy night where I taught my skating lesson, stopped at the grocery store and, starving, decided to hit up the salad bar and grab a salad for my dinner.

I came home about a half hour before Riley’s bed time and while Derek put away the groceries, I pulled out the plastic container from the salad bar.

I had never thought of it before, but salad just may be the perfect meal for a picky toddler.

Riley caught one glimpse of what was in that plastic container, and begged for a taste. So right there, closing in on bed time, we plopped down on the kitchen floor, he in my lap, and we ate salad. Kids like veggies? Maybe that’s really not so surprising.

I mean think about it. For a little kid who is used to getting a lot of the same food every day, the colorful veggies on the salad bar would be a welcome sight to little eyes.

The different colors and textures is what really struck me. He grabbed a chick pea, then noshed on cauliflower, then he munched on a snow pea, and finished it off with some feta cheese. Crunchy, creamy, salty. No dressing, no fork, no waiting. He gobbled up my salad, happy as a clam.

And I ended up eating a frozen waffle for dinner.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Eat Your Veggies

  1. Recipe Chefs

    I love food and I really enjoy reading your blog. Thanks for sharing this post. Feel free to check out our recipes.

    Recipe Chefs –

    http://recipechefs.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

