And this is REALLY cool…

Last Saturday, I did my first 5K of the season. Spring did not get the memo that it should have been here in Wisconsin for at least a month, however. I woke up at 7 a.m. Saturday morning to 35 degrees and rain. Lovely.
Derek and I were doing this run with 2 friends at a small private college. We did it last year and it was a nice course and a fun, casual race, so we knew we wanted to do it again. But when we woke up to such crappy weather, we were on the fence. Is it worth it? We both just got over a pretty nasty cold. But we already paid and prepared and it would be fun. We decided to suck it up and go for it.
Because of the weather, Riley needed his auntie to come over and babysit. There was no way we were busting out the jogging stroller in that weather.

Once at the race, the rain slowed to a very fine mist. We warmed up the best we could and then sat in the car until 5 minutes before the start.

Derek and I decided to split up and each run at our own pace. It’s no secret that he’s a slower runner than me and I really wanted to try and beat my time from last year.

The run itself was good. The out-and-back course was through a park, but we were running into the rain on the way out, making it hard to see. Oh well.

I felt tired at the very end of the race, but knew I had to do my trademark-sprint at the end. For me, that’s the key to getting a good time.

I can tell it’s early in the season and I haven’t been running as much as I should because this race was actually kind of hard for me. 5Ks usually aren’t too bad for me. But when I crossed the finish line, I was slightly disappointed. I missed beating last year’s time by 2 seconds. Geeze!

The rain wasn’t stopping, so after the race, Derek grabbed a chocolate milk, I grabbed a banana and we headed home. I guess I was pretty satisfied with my time, but not thrilled.

So imagine my surprise when I got home from work yesterday and saw a package from the race on the counter.

“What’s that?” I asked Derek.

“I don’t know, it came in the mail for you today,” he said.

I immediately thought, Did I leave my ID at the race?

But no, I opened the package to find a medal for third place in there. No letter. No explanation. I looked at Derek wide-eyed.

“A medal? Did I place in my age group or something?”

Derek hopped on the computer and looked up the results. Sure as shit. I placed third in the 30-34 age group.

My first thought? YAY!

My second thought? Wow, there must have been some really slow runners that day.

I’m not about to get a big head about this, don’t worry. Especially because I checked and there were only 14 people in my age group. But secretly? One of my unspoken goals since I started doing races 5 years ago was getting something other than a finisher’s medal. And now I did it. Yippy!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

