Today I Cursed the Sun

Dramatic, right? Well, sit back and I’ll tell you why I cursed the glowing yellow ball in the sky.

For the past week or so, I’ve been waking up waaaaay earlier than I need to. And that is because of my 2-year old. And the sun. I think. Ever since spring sprung (actually, it was 39 degrees this morning some spring), Riley has been waking up early. Early, early. For example, this morning.

I awoke to, “Mom! Help!” Just like I do every morning as of late. I opened one eye and peered at my digital alarm clock. 5:40. Are you kidding me? I immediately closed my eyes and pulled the covers over my head. But here’s the thing – I have a persistent, stubborn little guy. He just yells louder and louder. “Mom! HELP! MOM! HEEEELLLLPPP!” 

Ugh, fine. I got up, put on my glasses and literally stumbled into his room. It was glaring and bright in there. At 5:40 a.m.! Stupid, glowing sun!

His head was on his pillow, his eyes closed. “Mom, nuk!” He said. I grabbed it from under the blanket and gave it to him; stumbling back to bed.

Fifteen minutes later, no shit, “Moooooom! Help!” UGH! The cycle repeated itself. just about every 15 minutes until 7 am. when I gave up and got up.

There’s obviously no doubt that I love my little guy more than air, but here’s the thing – he was a baaaad sleeper as a baby. If you don’t believe me, go read some of my posts from ages 6 months to 11 months. But ever since then he’s been a great sleeper. And I want that great sleeper back. We all deserve our z’s, even if the sun does rise really early now.

So that is why my little boy is currently drifting off in his crib with giant dark red bath towels hanging over his windows. If that doesn’t keep Mr. Golden Sun out at 5:40 a.m., I don’t know what will.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

