It Hurts To Be Beautiful

…or have a beautiful house.

Last weekend, my sister, Riley and I went to Trader Joe’s and stocked up on yummy, cheap food. All was right with the world. Until we arrived home. I pulled into the driveway and this is what I saw:

Oh, hello there, gaping hole in my house. I didn’t see you there. Wait, yes I did. In fact, cars are slowing down to gawk at you. Lovely.

A few months ago we bought a new ginormous picture window to replace the leaky, crappy, old “bay” window that had been there for 60 years. Yes, I knew it would be a big project. Yes, I knew it would be worth the work. But, sheesh. Nothing prepares you to see this when you pull into the driveway.

Hey guys, thanks for ripping off the front of my house. You guys are the best!

Demo, holes in the house and dusty drywall messes are nothing new to us. We have completely remodeled this house in the almost 4 years since we’ve lived here (hey, happy house-iversary to us on Wednesday!) Check it out. We then built a whole new bathroom and completely remodeled the existing nasty-bath. Take a look see.

The huge window took a lot longer to install than we thought it would. In fact, we were up cleaning until 10:00 that night. Do we know how to party on a Saturday night, or what?

So, since we ran out of time, we have spent the past week with our living room looking like this:

Well, minus the trash bags and plastic covering our TV and furniture. Come on, we’re not barbarians. The point is, we have exposed walls. And every morning we find a bunch of stray ants, spiders and beetles. Hooray!

So today, we drywalled (again, I say we but I mean he). But no time to tape, mud or paint. So, for the foreseeable future, this is what our living room will look like:

Hey, it’s still better than what we saw when we bought the house, so we aren’t complaining.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

