Karma

Remember that one time that I lost my dream job? And I was devastated more than I’ve ever been in my life? And I felt the world’s worst feelings of betrayal and anger towards my boss who basically threw me under the bus to save herself?

Well, karma came back in a most glorious way.

On Monday afternoon, some former co-workers and friends forwarded me a corporate email that was released about her. It said she had resigned. She was going to do freelance work. Stay on for a few weeks so they could find a replacement.

At first I was like, “Wha? They didn’t fire her?!?!” I wanted her to feel humiliated and broken like she made me feel. But then I read between the lines. She has no family or friends and lives for this job. There is no way she would resign on her own accord. Especially when she doesn’t have another job lined up. She was forced out. They gave her the option – resign on your own and keep dignity from the company where you’ve worked for 10 years, or we will fire you.

I felt really happy, relieved and vindicated. That night I celebrated with a beer and toasted karma, glorious karma. I feel no sadness towards the fact that she now lost her dream job. The same way she forced me to lose my dream job, didn’t have the guts to tell me to my face that I was “laid off” and then never once contacted me again. She went on vacation like everything was fine and let HR do the dirty work. I never saw her again.

I am the type of person who believes in karma. I truly feel that what you put out into the universe will come back to you. The way you are treated is a direct reflection of how you treat others. And this week, 7 months after she did that to me, it was done to her. And life is good.

These are odd feelings for me, though, as I have never been one to relish in another’s misery. But I’m hopeful that just this once, I can feel happiness that she got what she deserved, and hope that karma understands and nothing bad happens to me in return. Fingers crossed!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

