Cloth Diaper Frustration Part 2

See Part One here.

I’ve always loved cloth diapering Riley and have sung its praises to many people. Even inspiring my friend Kelly to cloth diaper her new little baby whenever he decides to make his grand entrance into the world.

But lately, I’ve been frustrated. I don’t know if it’s because I’m now cloth diapering a 2-year old, or if my diapers are just tired from getting washed 3 times per week for the last 2+ years, but lately, they’ve been leaking. A lot.

I’ve tried what the online cloth diapering goddesses have told me to try – switching detergent, stripping them, holding a seance. But really, I have no idea what else I should try.

I’m just getting really, really sick of seeing my little boy completely soaked when he wakes up from a nap. “Wet!” he exclaims. And seeing a wet spot on his booty a full 20 minutes after I just changed him. Is it that his bladder has gotten bigger? Should I just bite the bullet and potty train my 27-month old? Switch to disposable diapers? Suggestions are welcome!

 

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Cloth Diaper Frustration Part 2

  1. tracysday

    I just started using cloth diapers with my second baby so I don’t have much advice other then that my toddler is in disposables and the same thing happens with them. He is 28 months old and wakes up wet in his disposables all the time. It may just be that they are getting older and nothing is going to contain their “output.” We have decided to potty train though. We just started this week and it’s going pretty well so far. He really showed signs that he was ready though. Every time Mommy went potty he wanted to go and would just go on his own. Every kid is different and I personally think that it’s important to look for the signs to see if they’re ready to go potty or it will just be a long miserable experience for both of you. Good luck. Sorry I couldn’t offer any solutions.

  2. awholenotherstory

    Thanks for writing! Considering just this week my son has started saying, “change diaper. poopoo.” I think it’s probably time to start potty training.

Leave a Reply

