Can You Hear That?

That sound off in the distance? It’s building. Can you hear it? It’s the sound of my anxiety rising. The sound of my nerves crying.

Wanna know why?

Because in just 4 short days, we will attempt to put Riley down to sleep without a pacifier. I know, crazy, right?

Our little boy has had a love affair with his nuk since birth.

It really got us through a lot of horrible nights of sleep. For the last year, he’s only been allowed his nuk while sleeping. But, I’m sheepishly admitting this, he requires two nuks – one to hold and one to suck on. I know! It’s bad.

And even then, he usually would wake up without them. If I had a nickel for every trip to his room to fish for a nuk under his crib in the dark, I’d be a millionaire.

So this is not going to be easy. At all.

Last week, I started only giving him his nuks while he’s actually in his crib. I always read to him before bed and I used to let him suck on his pacifiers while we rocked and read in his room, but no more. For the first three nights, I could hardly get through Goodnight Moon because he was throwing a little hissy fit that he wanted his pacifier.

So, come Friday night, there is going to be one unhappy little 2-year old in our house. Which will make two unhappy parents. And my guess is that all three of us will be really tired on Saturday morning. Wish us luck…

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

