About the (Nuk-Free) Big Boy Bed

That’s what we’re calling it around here and it’s totally working. KNOCK ON WOOD!

I got all sentimental-like when it was time to actually convert the crib into a toddler bed. And I had to take pictures, of course. I think it’s because I so vividly remember when Derek put the crib together when I was all pregnant and unhelpful.

And so I couldn’t help but feel a bit nostalgic, hormonal and whiny while that crib that I’ve spent so much time silently, without breathing, lowering a crabby baby into. I even took a picture of him the last time he woke up in that crib. Yes, I’m nuts.

For some reason, the moment just called for a tongue to be hanging out.

But now, he’s….sleeping in that bed! Nuk-free! And it’s actually been a lot easier than I thought it would be. He needed extra hand holding and back rubs by Mommy the first couple nights. I was happy to oblige. But tonight, he didn’t need anything. He just ….went to sleep! I didn’t think the bed would be the issue, it’s going to be pacifier-free that I knew he’d have a hard time with. But so far, so good.

Naps, however, are a different story. He didn’t nap at all the first day. The second day, it took him over TWO HOURS to fall asleep. I almost wanted to just give him a pacifier because I knew he would’ve fallen asleep within minutes if he had one. But no way, I’m a stickler. Which is why I did my 8-mile run at 2:30 in the afternoon. Not ideal during the summer.

But we’ve got our eyes on the prize! Success!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

