ZZZZZZzzzz

Oh hey there. Sorry, I must have dozed off typing my headline. It’s been a rough week in our casa.

For some odd reason, Riley has decided that sleeping = no fun. At all.

A few nights ago, he woke up at 1:30 a.m. Crying, for real. I leaped out of bed and darted to his room.

“I want my milk!” he wailed.

“No buddy, it’s too late for milk now. I’ll get you some water.”

“How bout juice?” he bartered through his tears.

“No, water.”

I came back into his room and gave him his sippy cup of water. When I handed it to him, he snuggled it into his belly and rolled over onto his side. I stood there, waiting to see if he was going to take a sip or drift off. He didn’t move.

Until he raised his arm, pointed to his door and said, “You go this way!”

Um, really? It’s 1:30 in the morning. I have to get up in 5 hours to run 3 miles (my half marathon is this weekend, stay tuned for the race report!). Do you think I really WANT to stand here, in your dark bedroom, instead of staring at the inside of my eyelids? But thanks.

So there have been a few middle-of-the-night awakenings this week. But even more annoying to me has been the early morning awakenings. Like clockwork, at 5 a.m., he’s up. Calling for me or milk, or both. I stumble in there, again telling him it’s not time for milk yet. Sorry, but I just think of his poor teeth rotting out when he drifts back to sleep with milk breath. So I usually go in, rub his back, and tell him to go back to sleep. Nine out of 10 times, it doesn’t work.

So we broke a cardinal sin of parenthood. We brought him into our bed. So now that’s the new thing. At 5 a.m. or 6 a.m., depending on his mood, he yells, “Sleep Mommy Daddy bed!” We tell him that he has to stay in his Big Boy Bed, which works for about 10 minutes until the cycle starts all over again. Mommy. Milk. Mommy Daddy Bed. PLEASE!

Let’s just hope that tonight is better. But if it’s not, I’ll live. I’m Riley’s mom. I’ve got tons of experience in no sleep. In fact, I’m so good at functioning on little to no sleep, I could probably list it on my resume. Hmmm….not a bad idea!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “ZZZZZZzzzz

  1. tracysday

    It may just be a growth phase. My son went through this right around two years old. I had to actually give him a second dinner about 30 minutes before he went to bed. He was waking up in the middle of the the night asking for milk but really he was hungry.

  2. awholenotherstory

    That’s really good advice! He has definitely seemed more hungry lately and I wondered if a growth spurt had something to do with it. I like the idea of dinner number 2 before bed. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

