Weekend Success!

This weekend, we hauled a whole bunch of crap out of our basement and held a rummage sale on Saturday and Sunday. And if that wasn’t enough, we decided to bite the proverbial bullet and potty train Riley. We figured we were tied to our house for the weekend anyway, so we might as well make the most of it and party in the bathroom while people rifle through our things and offer us a dollar or two.

I’ll admit it. I was nervous. It’s weird to invite strangers into your garage and then be like, “Buy this old coffee table and give me your money for it.” Even weirder to me is seeing people looking at clothes you used to wear. I actually sold a lot of my old clothes. Weird, but I’ll take it as a compliment!

So while Derek held down the fort with the rummagers, I was in the house constantly asking Riley, “Do you have to go potty?” “Are your underwear dry?” “Do you have to go potty? Do you? DO YOU?” He would look at me like, “Mom, chill.” But when I’d force him to sit on the potty, he’d go. And he was soooo proud. He’d clap for himself and squeal and it was super duper cute. Then he’d get 2 M&Ms. Yes, I bribe him with candy. Ain’t no shame in my game.

Yes, there were accidents, though. But really, I would say only 4 or 5 all weekend. Not bad if you ask me. To all the potty training moms out there, stock up on paper towels. I had to make a Target run early this morning to buy paper towels and M&Ms.

But here’s the miraculous thing – he totally gets it! Knock on wood. By Sunday night, the weather was warmer and the sun was shining and I thought we could venture out. He peed on the potty and then we decided to take a walk around the neighborhood. We were gone ten minutes, tops. I probably asked him if his underwear were dry 7 times.

When we got home, the little boys next door were playing in their driveway and they called to Riley to come over and play. Of course he couldn’t resist, so we walked over. He was riding Jack’s brand new bike and I hoped and prayed that he would not pee all over it. We probably played for about 10 minutes and still, he was dry! I knew we were pressing our luck, so I took him home for a potty break. I promised him we’d go back out and play. AND IT WORKED. He peed, we celebrated with M&Ms and then we went back outside and played. It’s a miracle!

So I think we’re going to continue on this path. Diapers on at nap and bedtime, and when we go out to the store or to his Kindermusik class. But at home, it’s underpants city. Woohoo!

And the icing on the cake? All the crap we sold! We’ve got a pretty empty basement and some cash money in our pocket. I would definitely call this weekend a success!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

