On Nesting

I’ve always really hated the word “Nesting.” I don’t know why, I just always have. When I was pregnant with Riley, I never felt an overwhelming urge to clean the house or organize things; I was not on my hands and knees washing the kitchen floor in between contractions. But a lot about this pregnancy has been different. Including this nesting instinct.

However, I don’t really know if what I’m feeling is even nesting. Here’s what it is. I have an overwhelming urge to be at my house with my family. I think what it stems from is having something to do or somewhere to go after work every night for the last several weeks. There have been nights with drinks with former co-workers, dinner with a long lost friend, a movie with current co-workers. And all that stuff is great, don’t get me wrong. I understand that everyone needs time to let off steam and hang with the girls. I’m one of those people for sure.

What I don’t like is that I have a little boy who goes to bed at 8:00. If I meet the girls out for a “drink” (or water, or Sprite, most likely), then I give up my chance to see my son for a day.

Every once in a while, I know that’s ok. I’m luckier than most full-time working moms. I usually get to come home on lunch and see him. And I don’t start work until 8:30 a.m., so I get to get Riley out of bed, dressed and fed every morning. I’m lucky.

But I think the fact that I know my time with one child is limited and soon this little boy who has had my undivided attention for almost three years is going to have to share me. So I want to make the most of every single moment I get with him. And really, we have a dishwasher that needs emptying and laundry that needs to be finished. And come 9:00, I’m tired, yo.

So I’ve started telling little white lies when people invite me out. I just feel like many of my childless friends just won’t get it when I say that I just want to go home to my family at the end of the day. Not that I care, really.

So from now until July, methinks I will be a little difficult to schedule dinners out with friends. But that’s fine by me.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

