Dear Riley

Today you turn three years old. I started writing you little letters when you were just a few days old. I can’t believe how quickly time has gone by. But more than that, I can’t believe how happy you make me, your daddy, the dog, and virtually everyone you meet. As Grandma P. wrote in your birthday card this year, “You are the sunshine of our lives.” It’s true.

Sometimes when I’m with you, I stop and take a mental picture because I just don’t want to forget any of this time in our lives. I don’t want to forget the way you say, “Thank you for making me this food, Mommy” at dinner every night. I don’t want to forget the times that we lock eyes and one of us makes a funny face and we both crack up. Or how you always ask me to sit with you while you’re on the potty. And while I sit there, you always ask to hold my hand while you do your “business.” I don’t want to forget last Friday night, when you decided you really did not want to go to sleep. By 10 p.m. I decided to take drastic measures. I climbed into your “big boy” bed with you and snuggled you close. You wrapped your arms around my neck and said, “I’ll hold you, Mommy.” We laid there in silence and then you said, “It’s ok, Mommy. I’ll keep you safe.” You’re just the sweetest little boy that I could ever imagine. Even though you didn’t fall asleep until 10:30 that night. I forgive you.

You are so in love with the baby that is growing in my stomach. Multiple times a day you tell me you want to say hi to the baby and hug my tummy. You even made up a song for the baby:

Da da baby

You don’t cry

Da da baby

You don’t cry

(big Broadway finish)

AAAAAAAAAAAAAnd

Da da baby

You don’t cry.

I don’t get it, but it’s you, so I love it. You often say that you love the baby and you can wait for him/her to come out so you guys can play together. I think you may be disappointed for the first few months of the new baby’s life. I dont’ think he/she is really going to want to play with you. Just be patient, bud. You guys will be playmates for life. I promise.

You’ve made it clear that you want the baby to be a boy. I told you that it might be a girl and you insisted, “No, a boy.”

“But it might be a girl,” I explained.

“NO. A boy.”

“Why do you think it’s going to be a boy?” I asked.

“Because that’s what I asked for!” you stated.

I am not sure who you asked, but we’ll see if you get what you asked for in a couple months.

On the cusp of your third year of life, I just want you to always know how much you’re loved, how happy you make everyone and that you are truly a special, wonderful little boy. You’ve made my heart grow bigger than I ever thought possible and I thank God for you every day.

Love,

Mommy

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

