A Pain in the Back

Ah back pain, there you are. I’ve missed you. Not really. Being a former competitive figure skater, runner and all around active person, I’ve definitely had my share of back pain. But these days that all pales in comparison with the dreaded pregnancy back pain.

Ever feel like your spine is out of alignment? Like your legs are going to give out from under you? Yeah, that’s pretty much how I’m feeling these days.

I started taking a prenatal yoga class and stretching every day, and that’s really helping, but I gotta admit, I’m worried about what I’m going to be like at the end of this pregnancy. Probably looking like my great-grandma did when she was 93 – hunchback city.

I had back pain when I was pregnant the first time around, but not this bad and not this early. And I think it’s because of that first pregnancy. It’s very hard to maintain good posture when you’re chasing after someone who is 1/3 your height. I’m constantly bending over to wipe his nose, comb his hair, get him dressed, etc.

I know the day is coming that I won’t be able to pick him up and cradle him. Or lean over the edge of the tub to give him a bath. So even though it’s painful and I end up really paying for it by the end of the night, I’m not quite ready to give up those moments with my first born. So instead, I will pick him up for hugs and kisses, scrub behind his ears while he’s in the tub, and just suffer in silence.

Ok, who am I kidding? There’s no way I’m suffering in silence. But that’s beside the point…

If you’ve got tips for easing lower back pain, please let me know!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “A Pain in the Back

  1. Back pain can be the result of a hundred different things, and many of them can be serious.Whenever you are doing certain household tasks, try standing on one leg because this helps build your core back muscles. You should alternate your legs every thirty seconds, and this will help ensure an equal and balanced muscle growth in your back and legs for the support that you need.Be sure that you wear comfortable sneakers or shoes if you suffer from back pain. Walking with heels or other uncomfortable shoes can make you walk improperly and cause back pain to begin or increase. Try to buy sneakers that are fitting and have a rubber sole on the bottom for the best support.If dry heat is not producing the desired back pain relief, try applying moist heat to your back

    • yorba linda chiropractors

      When your arches are properly supported with orthotics, stress in taken off the knees, pelvis and lower back. This can greatly reduce pain from the feet up. Your balance and foundation begin at the feet and move up into the rest of body. Dr. Kevin Shaevitz can recommend custom and non-custom shoe orthotics that are tailored to your specific needs. Be sure to talk with him about customized orthotics and begin to rebalance your body from the bottom – up!

Leave a Reply

