Themes of This Maternity Leave

1. Smelly dog.

We just paid $60 to get Lola a bath at PetsMart a few weeks ago and for some odd reason this dog stinks. Like hot dog. No, not hot dogs. Like a hot, smelly dog. Ick.

2. Shedding dog.

And she’s shedding. Like crazy. She’s mostly German Shepherd, so yes she normally sheds a lot. But it seems excessive these days. I don’t know if it’s because it’s been such a hot summer, or because she’s shedding her summer coat or what. But. This. Dog. Sheds. I’m so sick of seeing tumbleweeds of dog hair floating across the floor.

3. Complaining about the dog. Derek recently said he was going to keep a tally of the amount of times I complain about the dog’s stink and shedding every day. I bet if we turned it into a drinking game, we’d be wasted by noon. Fun!

4. Vacuuming (see number 2)

I feel like it’s all I do. And then 24 hours later, there’s dog hair everywhere again. The bain of my existence.

5. Sore boobs.

Little miss Charlotte likes to eat. A lot. Between feeding her every 2-3 hours and pumping every now and then to attempt to build a stash for when I go back to work, my boobies are working over time. My poor, poor boobs. Not sure that I’ll be able to nurse Charlotte for 11 months like I did with Riley. The girls are going to need a break, I think.

6. Laundry

Two kids, two adults, a household of sheets and towels. Yes, I do laundry. A lot. If you come over to my house, chances are very good that there is at least one laundry basket of clean clothes in someone’s bedroom waiting to be put away. Chances are even better that it’s MY clean laundry that is waiting to be put away. What? I’m on maternity leave. I don’t care if my clothes are wrinkly.

7. Peanut butter and jelly sandwiches.

We have one for lunch almost every day. We are a family of distinguished taste.

8. Long walks.

When you can’t formally exercise for 6 weeks, walking is your new BFF. And since we received this stroller as a baby shower gift, we have been putting it to good use.

Yes, it’s as big as a Chevy Metro, but it gets the job done. And it has speakers, so I can hook up my iPod and listen to music whilst aimlessly wandering the neighborhood. And when the little boy starts singing along to Mumford & Sons, it makes the walk even more enjoyable.

9. Playgrounds!

When you have a 3-year old that you REALLY want to nap, trips to the playground are a must. Pair that with a long walk, and you’ve got my new normal these days. Too bad every day is about 90 degrees. Maybe all the baby weight will just sweat out of my body. I can hope!

10. Family quiet time. It’s just been working out that every day from 3-5 is family quiet time. That’s Riley’s normal nap time (though he doesn’t always nap these days, at least he generally stays in his room and plays semi-quietly). Charlotte is really good at napping around this time. Derek is quiet because he’s working. And me? I get the luxury of watching Barefoot Contessa, Facebooking, loading the dishwasher or other such glorious tasks.

11. Olympics.

Love them. Whether it’s kayaking, fencing, or table tennis, if it’s the Olympics, I’m watching. Pairing maternity leave with the Olympics makes me a happy girl!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

