On Running

Last fall, I hurt my knee while training for a half marathon. I ran it anyway. Yeah, probably not too bright, but meh, I worked towards that goal and dammit, I was accomplishing it.

Afterwards, my knee started feeling worse and worse, so I stopped running. A few weeks later, I found out I was pregnant. Due to that fact and the fact that my knee needed to heal, I hung up the ole running shoes. And high heels. For a good 10 months.

But those days are over. Two weeks ago, I started running again. And it feels glorious.

I think it’s safe to say that if you don’t run, then you just don’t get it. I know I didn’t get it before I started running.

It’s a relatively easy thing to do. One foot in front of the other. No fancy equipment. No fuss, no muss, just RUN.

But it does something to my head. It clears out my brain for a while and gives me time to think about all sorts of things, or nothing at all.

Having not run for several months, I’ve been getting back into it very slowly. Run three minutes, walk two. Run three minutes, walk one. Lather, rinse, repeat. I thought I’d have to remind myself to slow down and take it easy since I don’t want to aggrivate my knee, but believe me, it’s slow-going. Not running for months on end will do that, apparently. I used to pride myself on my endurance. I could talk your ear off at mile 10. But the first couple times I ran, my lungs burned. It was not pretty. But by my run yesterday, my lungs felt good. Not burny. Hooray!

I guess more than anything, while I’m running these days, I feel a little bit more like myself. I think when you become a mom, it’s hard to maintain your identity. Am I more than a butt-wiper? More than a milk machine? More then a boo boo kisser? When I’m running, I definitely feel like I am. And that makes every drop of sweat and ache and pain worth it.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

