Why Preschool Sucks

First off, yes, there are good things, even GREAT things about Riley being in school. The adorable artwork he comes home with every day. The fun he has when he’s there. The fact that he’s learning independence. He’s happy there.

But here are the things  I hate about the fact that my child is in school and not home every day:

– The illnesses. The constant cold that he has had since starting school. He’s the typical snot-nosed daycare kid now. And he coughs a lot. I am grateful that so far he’s only gotten colds from school and no crazy hoof and mouth disease or whatever you hear about other kids getting at school. And I’ve been sick twice in three weeks thanks to the germs he’s brought home. No, I’m not bitter. At all.

– He’s loud. Ever since starting school he’s become noticeably louder. Like, talking at decibels the deaf could hear. I think it’s because he’s in a room with a bunch of 3-year olds and the louder they talk, the more others pay attention.

– He says the darndest things. Scratch that, he says horrible things. The other day when I was getting ready for work, he nonchalantly said, “I’m going to kill you.” Um…WHAT? Excuse me? What did my sweet, innocent little cherub just say? Lovely. And here’s the thing, he didn’t say it in an angry or mean way. He said it as if he was telling me what he wants for lunch. Which makes me feel a little better because he obviously has no idea what that means. But yikes. It’s still shocking to hear.

– He’s gotten more testosterony. That’s the only way I can think of to describe it. He pretends to hit us. He says, “I’m gonna fight you.” Typical boy stuff. But it’s new to our boy. And I don’t like it.

– UPDATE: For the second time in his entire life, Riley threw up. Lovely. And he has a fever. No school for him tomorrow! Besides washing his hands the instant he comes home from school and changing his clothes that he wore at school, what else can we do to ensure the germs stay out of our house? Put him in a bubble?

I know I’m just complaining and school is the right place for him to be. But it’s hard to let go, to deal with the constant illnesses, and the things that other kids teach him. Now if you’ll excuse me, I’m going to go make sure our couch doesn’t smell like puke anymore.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

