Charlotte’s Baptism

Last weekend, we had Charlotte’s baptism. It was a special day where our entire family came together to celebrate our little girl. Following my family’s tradition, Charlotte wore the baptismal gown that my grandma made for my mom 57 years ago. It’s the dress my mom wore, I wore, Riley wore and all of my cousins wore. And she rocked it, of course.

She is also wearing a bonnet that my great-grandma made forever ago. I love family heirlooms.

While we certainly are not regular church-goers, and we definitely don’t agree with everything the Catholic church believes these days, it was important for us to get Charlotte baptized, the same way we were. Honestly, it gives me comfort to hear that there is a higher power looking over her.

And when the priest blessed us parents and asked God to help us, well, I felt grateful. Parenting is freaking hard and I will take all the help I can get.

And I’ve got to give a shout out to our two kids – the two best behaved kids in church. Riley was an angel. He sat still, he whispered, he didn’t whine or ask to leave. And Charlotte napped, she smiled, she cooed. Not a bad way to spend a Sunday morning.

 

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

