Finding the Thankful in the Everyday

Sure, there are the normal things that I’m thankful for – a roof over our heads  that is getting better and more complete with every strike of the hammer; a job that affords me the luxury of purchasing new jeans when I need them and trading in my old school flip phone for an iPhone (hello new world!); and a healthy, loving immediate and extended family that I can’t wait to spend time with over the long holiday weekend.

But for as much mushy thank yous as I can ponder, there are also the everyday thank yous that I cannot neglect.

  • Thank you for me only catching a common cold from my son. I guess it could be worse. I could have the bubonic plague now or something. Instead, I’ve gone through an entire box of Kleenex in ONE day and while conducting a phone interview at work, I kept hacking up a lung in the poor guy’s ear.
  • Thank you for the ability to breastfeed, especially while sick. This should help keep Charlotte from getting this glorious cold. However, I don’t recommend attempting to blow your constantly dripping nose while pumping in the medical room at work. Here’s what will happen, the pump will shift slightly, causing the precious milk to pour all over your lap. You’ll wonder, “What is that warm sensation on my lap?” Only to look down, horrified, and see a puddle of human milk on your lap. How are you going to conceal that for the whole day? And what if someone asks what you spilled on your pants? What are you going to tell them? Thankfully, running home on lunch and changing clothes took care of that for me!

However, more than anything, I’m thankful for a kick ass husband and these two. And the ability to take cheesy pictures of them that will embarass them when they’re older. Muwahaha!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

