Sick Day

Well, we had a really nice three week stretch where no one in this house had a cold. Hallelujah! I’ve written about the dreaded preschool germs before, but it seemed that maybe we were actually over the hump, three months into the school year. Not quite yet.

Riley was sick for a couple days with a very runny nose and a cough and the day after he got sick, I got sick. And I still am. This is day SEVEN.

So yesterday, the Saturday after Thanksgiving, where I had big plans of beginning our Christmas decorating, cleaning the house, organizing Charlotte’s closet with her much-needed 6 month clothes, shopping, running and some other fun stuff, it turned into an entire day of doing absolutely nothing.

I literally laid on the couch the entire day watching a marathon of Guilliana & Bill. I would sit up just to feed Charlotte, and then I’d lay back down again. I never even changed out of my pajamas. Derek picked up some food for dinner. I didn’t even brush my teeth until bed time, now that I think about it.

But the best part? My awesome husband offered to get up with Charlotte last night.

So for the very first time in her 4.5 months of life, we slept in separate rooms. And for the first time in 4.5 months, I didn’t have to worry about anyone but myself while I slept. I woke up refreshed at 6 a.m., though my boobs were about to burst. I brought Charlotte into bed to feed her, and we both fell back to sleep until 7:30.

That’s the problem when you’re the mom. Everyone needs you, which is usually wonderful. When I’m sick, I have the hardest time putting myself first. Sorry kid, can’t play with you, I’m sick. Sorry baby, someone else will have to hold you, I’m sick. Which is precisely why I’m still sick 7 days later.

So yesterday, I called in sick to motherhood. And it felt awesome. Hopefully my cold is completely gone by tomorrow. Just in time to go back to work….

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

