Back

I just got back from a loooooong 4 day trip to New Orleans for work. The first trip away from my 7 month-old baby. Not cool. For several reasons, including:

1. I’m still breastfeeding. In preparation for this trip away, I dropped one feeding per day and Charlotte got her first taste of formula. Luckily, everything was ok before I left. However, the first day I was there, I stupidly forgot to bring my pump from the hotel, so I had to go from 7 a.m. until 5 p.m. with no pumping. Painful. I practically ran to my hotel room after 5 and happily pumped to my heart’s content. But my boobs still hurt for the next 24 hours. It was really uncomfortable. Duly noted, boobs. Thanks.

2. The worst turbulance ever. I’ve had bumpy flights before, but that was nothing compared to my connecting flight from Atlanta to New Orleans. The plane was not only bouncing up and down rapidly, we were also dipping side to side. I was constantly having that stomach falling out your toes feeling that you get on roller coasters, and people around me were doing the sign of the cross and praying. Not very reassuring, passengers! It was so bumpy that the flight attendants didn’t get out of their seats the whole plane. No drinks or pretzels for us!

3. I missed my family. so. much. I’m so thankful for technology because I was able to FaceTime them on my iPhone. Though, the connection wasn’t the greatest in my hotel room. But every time Charlotte’s sweet little face appeared on the screen, I cried. It’s so hard to be away from her, especially because she’s usually velcroed to my side.

But luckily, the trip went by fairly quickly and I happily paid $50 to Delta airlines to switch my flight so I’d get home 2 hours earlier. I would’ve paid $200 to get home faster. But I’m glad that I did it and that my first trip away is officially over. I hope work doesn’t make me travel again for a long, long time.

P.S. Kudos to my husband for holding down the fort with two kids, a dog and a house under construction. Now, if you’ll excuse me, I have a baby and a little boy to go kiss.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

