Why Single Parenting Doesn’t Agree With Me

Derek was gone for four days on a re-charge camping trip with a friend, so I was on my own with two kids for a solid 4 days. I’m not exaggerating when I say a SOLID 4 days – he left at 6:30 a.m. Thursday and came back at 11:55 p.m. Sunday night.

Single parents, I don’t know how you do it.

I tried to work from home for one day. After a couple nice minutes of productive work, this happened:

photo (4)Notice the blurry baby making a break for it. She can army crawl faster than um…someone in the…army.

I had some good moments: I went grocery shopping with both kids and actually bought food for us to eat. We played outside and got fresh air, even though that fresh air was about 40 degrees. I’m giving you the stink eye, spring in Wisconsin.

However, I had some bad moments as well: Nothing too bad, but there were times that my frustrations got the best of me. In fact, at one point, the dog was whining that she wanted to go out, so I let her out the patio door. A few minutes later I went to check if she was done doing her business, and I find her just sitting on the bottom step. She looked over her doggy shoulder at me as if to say, “Get it together, Broad. Until you do, I’m staying outside.” Duly noted, dog. Thanks.

I was really lonely at times too. Yes, it’s great that the kids are tucked in their beds (usually) snoozing by 8:30, but that’s when I felt really really alone. Like, I could watch some crappy TV, or read a crappy magazine. But I’d rather just have a beer and talk with my husband. Again, single parents – I applaud you.

The absolute worst though was that by Saturday night I was sick. SICK. The kids weren’t sick! How did I get a cold? I’ll tell you how. Those two kids ran me ragged. I was EXHAUSTED. I longed to be one of those celebrities that checks into a fancy hotel type place claiming exhaustion. Except it really would be because I was friggen exhausted, not covering up for a drug addiction.

So by Sunday night, this is how we sat until bedtime.

Everyone's snoozing.

Everyone’s snoozing.

And then from the grown up to the itty bitty baby, we all rejoiced when Daddy came home.

 

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Why Single Parenting Doesn’t Agree With Me

  1. Kayla Dickens

    I’m alone a few days a week because my husband works out of town. I totally applaud single parents too.

  2. awholenotherstory

    It is rough, that’s for sure. I applaud you as well!

Leave a Reply

