Mom’s Night

Riley’s school held “Mom’s Night” last week. It was so cute. I can’t believe: 1. that I have a child old enough to be in school; 2. that I have the sweetest little boy in the world; 3. how lucky I am.

IMG_0440

All the kids answered these questions about their moms. Aside from the fact that I have never made Riley a cucumber sandwich in my life, I absolutely love this. His drawing of the two of us is one of the sweetest things I’ve ever seen and I love, love, love that he thinks I look pretty when he sneaks in bed early in the morning to snuggle with me. Something I will remind him of when he’s 16 and thinks I am lame.IMG_0439

The majority of the evening was spent making artwork together. It was so fun just to be in his classroom with him; to see him interact with his friends and teachers, and to have him show off some of what he knows. When the teacher rang a bell, I assumed that meant we should go over to where she is, so I told him we should. He quietly whispered, “No, that means clean up.” Ok then! I must buy a bell immediately for home use. IMG_0442The kids sang songs for their moms and Riley made me a necklace out of Fruit Loops. It’s the kind of thing I’d save forever – except it’s made of Fruit Loops. Though I’m sure there are enough preservatives in them to last until he’s 40, I think I’ll have to toss it eventually.

For the me 8 months ago who was so worried about him starting school and us having to let him go a bit, I wish I had a crystal ball then and could’ve looked at him on this night. Completely in his element, proud to show me around his classroom, and amazing me with the stuff he can create.

And when we got home? Well look what we missed:

CharlottestandsThe little girl pulled herself up on the ottoman and stood on her own! It’s on! This little one will be walking around the house in no time….

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

