Charlotte’s 2nd Birthday – A Horse Party

When it came time to come up with a theme for Char Char’s 2nd birthday, it was a pretty easy decision. This girl is obsessed with horses. Neigh neighs as she insists on calling them.

Thanks to some Pinterest and a little craftiness on my part, I was so happy with the way everything turned out. An outdoor backyard birthday party is exactly what I had in mind when I insisted on giving birth in the summer. You think I’m joking? Nope. I did the math. Ha!

Here’s how the party came together, in pictures.

IMG_8405

My dad of all people, a retired cop, is amazing at cake decorating. As in, he made my wedding cake. Today he makes his grandchildren’s birthday cakes. When I told him it was a neigh neigh party, he and my mom came up with the idea of making a two-tiered carousel cake for Charlotte. IMG_8406

Amazing, right? What a grandpa!

IMG_8407

I googled horse cookies and found these online. They could not have been simpler. As in, I could whip them up on a random Wednesday night. And I would if I were Super Mom.

Nutter Butters, cashew pieces for ears, googly-eyed candies from Michaels and Wilton Cookie Decorator Icing. That’s it!

IMG_8428

For the birthday girl’s birthday outfit, I decided to go completely DIY. In the past, I’ve purchased Etsy-created shirts personalized for the birthday kid, but honestly, the only time the kid wears the shirt is on their birthday. Waste of $25 if you ask me. So, I bought an iron on horse patch and affixed it to a onesie already in Char’s closet. Then I watched this You Tube video of how to easily create a DIY tutu. $35 on Etsy? Nope, I’ll make it myself for about $5 at 9:30 the night before the party. Which I did. IMG_8432

Yes, the food was set up in our cluttered garage, but I did my best to keep it festive. Not bad, eh?

IMG_8439

One of my favorite moments was when my dad and I first showed Charlotte her cake. At first she delicately touched the frosting with her finger. And then? And then she dove in fast first. Literally. See above. I tried to stop her, but my dad smartly told me to just let her go for it. So I did and it was awesome.

IMG_8446

It’s hard to tell in this picture, but while everyone sang happy birthday to her, it seemed to suddenly sink in that this party, and allllllll this, was for her. She just looked around the cluttered garage at the family and friends who love her more than her 2 year-old little mind can even comprehend and just smiled shyly in amazement. This was my favorite part of the day.

IMG_8456

 

And when she unwrapped the gift from her brother? The stuffed horse that he, unprompted, took off the shelf in his bedroom and proclaimed that he wanted to wrap and gift to her? Well, I would say this picture of her appreciation speaks for itself.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

