8 Years Old

Dear Riley,

Today you turn 8 years old. I’ve been writing you letters on this old blog since before you were born, and I think if I could talk to the me of 8 years ago, I’d like to tell her a few things about this baby. Who is not a baby anymore.

IMG_1925

He is a thoughtful, hard-working, smart, sweet, funny little boy. I don’t know what we did to deserve to raise this kid, but I’m glad we did it. He is a pure joy to be around. He is destined for big things. He makes life fun, happy and worth living. All within 8 years of life.

I cannot wait to see what the next 8 years brings. Though I’m not in a rush to find out. Last week, you told me that you will be a teenager in 5 years.

“No, you won’t!” I exclaimed.

“Yes, I will. In 5 years, I’ll be 13.”

Whoa.

IMG_2366

 

So my plan is to enjoy you as much as I can, every single day. And hope that as you get older, you want to be around me as much as I want to be around you.

Thank you for making me a mom. Thank you for being even more wonderful than I thought you’d be when you were still kicking me from the inside.

IMG_2614

I love you my sweet boy.

Love, Mommy

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

